Using a standard switch with inline relay 500w

LightwaveRF Community: Welcome Forums Installation and Troubleshooting Using a standard switch with inline relay 500w

This topic contains 33 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  michael ward 5 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author
     Nlotf says:

Nlotf
    Participant

Hello,

First off I would like to thank the community for the valuable resources available.

I am new to home automation in general and I searched the forum for a topic similar to mine but could not find any, my apologies if that topic existed and I did not notice it.

I have a light fixture which only operates on On/Off no dimming, so I thought the only option available to control it is the “Inline Relay 500w”, however I want to still be able to control the fixture using a standard On/Off switch, is that even possible, and if possible would the switch control the relay (i.e. when switch is off, I would not be able to control the relay) or vice versa ?! what I eventually want is to be able to control the fixture from the link and as well from the standard switch.

My last question is regarding fluorescent light, is the “Inline Relay 500w” the right module to control a fluorescent light ?!

Thank you so much in advance

Nlotf

skiv71 says:

skiv71
    Participant

Hi Nlotf,

The inline relay will be perfect to switch a fluorescent light.

The load contacts of the relay will behave a like the true on/off of a conventional switch, but of course, be wireless in control.

Which brings us on to your 2nd question.

The switch itself cannot control the relay…

It requires a RF transmission, from either a wireless switch, wifilink command, remote control, contact switch etc etc…

For your install, i would say…

1/. fit a wireless switch in place of the standard switch
    2/. link the L + swL in the switch or disconnect the switchwire altogether in the light (if this is possible)