Need advice on controlling electric heaters

LightwaveRF Community: Welcome Forums General LightwaveRF Discussion Need advice on controlling electric heaters

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  VFRHawk 7 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
     VFRHawk says:

VFRHawk
    Participant

Hi,

I’m new to the smart home area, though not to technology, and was hoping that someone could give me some advice please.

I rent a flat with standalone electric heaters – no central controls at all. One is a storage heater, the others just plain electric heaters. Only one has a timer control, and that’s the one I use the least. What I’m looking to achieve is a central point where I can control all the heaters (there are 4 I’m interested in) by turning the plugs off and on remotely. Even better if I can do it from a smartphone app, when I’m not there, set up different schemes (I work shifts, so I want the heating on and off at different times on different weeks) etc.

Now, I’ve seen on MegaManUK that LightwaveRF make the Lightwave Link and the electric switch, so I’m assuming what I would need to do is buy a single link and 4 switches, then pair them together? If that’s right, do the lighwave switches replace the current isolators on the heaters, and if so, are they a standard size so I can take the current plain mains switches out and fit the new smart switches in the same wall boxes? If not, is there another way of achieving that? As I’m renting, I need to be able to do this with a minimum of disruption to the existing setup, and I need to be able to put it back to the way it is now if I move out.

Hope that makes sense!

Graham

Grunthos says:

Grunthos
    Participant

Not quite sure what you are replacing.

How are the heaters connected to the mains, are they plugged in to standard 13amp 3-pin sockets or wired in to outlet point.