lightwave device codes

LightwaveRF Community: Welcome Forums LightwaveRF Hackers lightwave device codes

This topic contains 18 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  stringman 3 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
     sdfroggatt says:

sdfroggatt
    Participant

Is there an easy way to find out a devices code without having a remote. I presume each device has a unique code pre programmed and they are created when the device is setup.

Apologies if this sounds a stupid question but I am a relative noob
    thanks in advance

skiv71 says:

skiv71
    Participant

Hi,

Each transmitting type device has a code inline with the JSJS LWRF specification.

3 off bytes to create the ID and another byte for the unit code.

Receiving devices has no code, they simply latch onto a suitable transmit whilst in learning mode.

With the wifilink, 2 of the 3 bytes of the ID are derived from the wifilink’s MAC address.

If you want to see the codes that various transmitters give out, you can do this with an rfxcom (RFXtrx433).

I believe this also might be possible using an arduino and suitable kit, but i have no experience with that.

HTH

Neil

developer of BMS Link (http://linode.bmslink.co.uk). A cloud based Home Automation platform for LightwaveRF, Z-Wave, RFXCOM.
     btidey says:

btidey
    Participant

Just to expand on that a bit more. The receiving devices (switches, dimmers, etc.) do not have any unique identity at all. They all start off effectively blank. They then learn through pairing what type of packets to respond to. As skiv says each transmitter has a unique transmit address plus the room/device codes. Once a device has been paired to that combination of transmit address and room/unit code then the device will continue to respond to commands that have that same info. Most devices can store up to 6 different combinations (e.g. remotes, wifilink etc) and will respond to any of them until unpaired.