Help Identifying Master/Slave Wiring

LightwaveRF Community: Welcome Forums Installation and Troubleshooting Help Identifying Master/Slave Wiring

This topic contains 12 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Chris 8 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
     SpannerBracket says:

SpannerBracket
    Participant

Hi,

I’ve got a room with two ceiling lights, and two twin gang light switches. On each gang, each switch controls one of the ceiling lights. Attached is a picture of the wiring. I don’t know which wires go between the two back boxes. I want to put lightwaverf switches in place of these.

How do I identify what is a master socket and what is a slave socket?

Thanks,
    SpannerBracket

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
     windoze says:

windoze
    Participant

Firstly let me say I am no expert on Lightwave kit having only a couple of weeks experience with it. I am not sure if anyone will be able to help you just from the images you have sent as there is generally no standard between installers as to which colour means what in house lighting wiring. The good new is that either back box can be used as the master socket as you just wire the master and slave in parallel. If you are going to use the wifi controller at any point I would put the master closest to that. Someone else may be able to correct me but I don’t think the slaves have a radio receiver in them.
    You will need to use a multimeter and find which is the live feed to the switches and the wire that returns to neutral thru the lights. Please, if you are not experienced at working on mains wiring get someone who is to do this, it will kill you if you get it wrong when testing.