Advice for a newbie

This topic contains 17 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Node Zero 7 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
     NathanRussell says:

NathanRussell
    Participant

Hi,
    I’m a total noob to home automation, but also am a total geek :) , so am keen to get started.

Currently I have no home automation at all. I live in a 1950′s house with approx 20 year old wiring. I am happy with tinkering with mains wiring myself, and understand circuits etc. EG. I have installed extra sockets in the ring main; and understand (and have added to) the lighting circuits.

I am looking to try my hand at smart lighting. As I understand it, I can go with smart bulbs, smart faceplate switches, or smart relay switches.

Smart bulbs are easy, but expensive.

Smart faceplates could be the way to go, but (as I understand it), some require a 3rd wire which will be impractical as currently we have twin core+earth from the ceiling rose to the faceplate switch and the plaster is directly over it rather than in conduit (so adding the 3rd wire will almost certainly involve replastering). Also, some of the faceplates look ugly!
    From what I’ve seen, the lightwaverf faceplates look better than other manufacturers, and dont require a 3rd wire; but the present Mrs R would not approve of the orange and blue leds!; and some of our lights are non-dimmable leds

So, that leaves smart relay switches, and in particular I am looking at the lightwaverf inline relay LW821 https://www.lightwaverf.com/product/821-in-line-relay-lw821/

Am I right in thinking that I can use this to make an existing single room light ‘smart’ (I know there is a 3 port version as well) , and that I can keep the existing twin core+earth that is already channelled into the wall, and the existing faceplate switch? And that I am effectively putting it inline into the existing light circuit?